Otto Loewi Award 2017 - Call

 logo hertie stiftung copy




otto loewi

Sponsored by the Hertie Foundation

The Austrian Neuroscience Association (ANA) offers the Otto-Loewi-Award 2017, endowed with € 5.300,-, sponsored by the Hertie Foundation. In order to promote the Neurosciences in Austria, the price honors outstanding scientific contributions in a topical field of neuroscience. The particular intention is to pay tribute to research accomplished in Austria.

Neuroscientists working in Austria who are not older than 40 years (as of September 24th, 2017) are invited to apply for the Otto-Loewi-Award 2017.

Applications have to include:

  1. CV
  2. short general description of the own research contribution, its most important topics and results at a maximum length of 5 pages
  3. list of all publications
  4. up to five publications considered particularly important (published or accepted for publication)

The proposals are reviewed and decided on by a prize committee consisting of five competent members and chaired by the president of the ANA. The award will be presented during the 15th ANA Meeting, September 24-26, 2017 at the IST Austria (Klosterneuburg/Gugging). Application deadline is May 31th, 2017. Applications mailed after this date will not be considered.

Please submit your proposals directly to the president of the Austrian Neuroscience Association:

Univ Prof Dr. Ludwig Aigner
Paracelsus Medizinische Privatuniversität
Institut für Molekulare Regenerative Medizin
Strubergasse 22, 5020 Salzburg, Austria
phone: +43-662-2420-80800, fax: +43-662-2420-80809
email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Past Otto-Loewi Awardees:

2015 Salzburg: David KEAYS, Institute of Molecular Pathology (IMP), Vienna

2013 Vienna: Kristin TESSMAR-RAIBLE, Max F. Perutz Laboratories (MFPL), Vienna

2011 Alpbach: Alexandra KOSCHAK, Center for Physiology and Pharmacology, Med. Univ. Vienna

2009 Salzburg: Daniela POLLAK, Inst. f. Physiologie, Med. Univ. Wien

2007 Seggau: Harald SITTE, Inst. f. Pharmakologie, Med. Univ. Wien

2005 Obergurgl: Thomas KLAUSBERGER, Inst. f. Hirnforschung, Med. Univ. Wien

2003 Wien: Johannes BERGER, Inst. f. Hirnforschung, Med. Univ. Wien

2001 Seggau: Christian HUMPEL, Univ. Klinik f. Psychiatrie, Innsbruck

1999 Salzburg: Stefan BÖHM, Inst. f. Neuropharmakologie, Univ. Wien

1997 Christoph BAUMGARTNER, Univ.Klinik f. Neurologie/Epilepsy Monitoring Unit